Longton spiritualist church

  • Home
  • Principles
  • About us
  • Church services
  • Upcoming events
  • Courses
  • Healing
  • Fanny Higginson
  • Gordon Higginson
  • Church committee
  • Shop
  • Tributes to Gordon
  • Spiritualists National Union
  • Links
  • Find us
  • Contact us

  • The spiritualist way
  • Blessing services
  • Naming services
  • Wedding services
  • Funeral & memorial services

  • The seven principles

    Unlike most other religions, Spiritualism does not tie its adherents to a creed or dogma.

    Rather the philosophy of Spirtualism is founded upon seven basic principles which were developed and derived through the mediumship of one of Spiritualism's greatest pioneers, Emma Hardinge Britten, inspired in 1871 by the communicating spirit of Robert Owen (the founder of the Co-operative movement).

    These seven principles which act as guidelines for the development of a personal philosophy of how to live one's life are, as follows:

    1. The Fatherhood of God
    2. The Brotherhood of Man
    3. The Communion of Spirits and the Ministry of Angels
    4. The Continous existence of the human soul
    5. Personal responsibility
    6. Compensation and retribution hereafter for all the good and evil deeds done on earth
    7. Eternal progress open to every human soul